Home > Apologetics, Atheism > Surrounded yet Unaware

Surrounded yet Unaware


Before the throne of the Lord some of life’s most interesting conversations and profound debates are going to sound… ridiculous.

  1. De Brevitate Vitae
    January 25, 2012 at 1:48 PM

    Yeah, those atheists sure are silly. It is obvious that this universe is created by the Flying Spaghetti Monster. Just because they haven’t seen the FSM doesn’t mean that he does not exist. It does not matter that there is no physical evidence. I have faith and that’s all that matters.

    Do you know why the caption seems so ridiculous? It’s because it’s a straw man. It is trying to equate denying the existence of a supernatural being with denying the existence of a mother; an obviously ridiculous position to take given we have proof that mothers exist. The comparison fails because we do not have proof that God exists.

    We deny the existence of God for the same reason you deny the existence of unicorns and the Loch-ness Monster. Yes they ‘could’ exist, but atheists suspend their belief until something is shown to be true. I don’t see how that is a ‘ridiculous’ position at all.

    If you’ve got the evidence I need to believe, let me know.

    • January 25, 2012 at 2:25 PM

      I’m going to ignore most of your comment, because it seems you missed the fact that the image I posted was not a serious theological argument. I do want to comment on an important idea you touched on.

      Toward the end of your comment you said, “Yes they [mythological creatures] ‘could’ exist, but atheists suspend their belief until something is shown to be true. I don’t see how that is a ‘ridiculous’ position at all.”
      If something is “shown to be true” it is not belief, it is knowledge. I don’t believe in my mom’s existence, I know her. But, I do believe in God, which is not a baseless belief, but is rooted in evidence, possibly not enough to say “God’s existence is not belief but knowledge”. Either way there is evidence for which I find reason to believe in God. I don’t see how that is a ‘ridiculous’ position at all.

      • De Brevitate Vitae
        January 25, 2012 at 6:33 PM

        Your title to this post and comment below implied something completely different. So you didn’t mean to call atheists ridiculous using this image as a metaphor for what we think about god(s)? Fine then.

        Look, I’ve obviously gotten off on the wrong foot. Imagine that instead of an ‘angry’ tone, what I am typing is now calm and friendly.

        1. You have to understand where I’m coming from and why this image bothers me.
        2. I never said your position was ridiculous. I was only attempting to explain why mine was not.
        3. If your belief is rooted in evidence, I would love hear about it. Perhaps you are the one person I was meant to run into that will show me what I need to see.

        Please, read my story and tell me yours. Thanks.(http://theshortnessoflife.wordpress.com/2012/01/13/tell-me-your-story/)

      • January 26, 2012 at 1:42 PM

        Fair enough, my friend.
        I’d love to share with you my story. I’ll try to make time for that today. Thanks for joining the conversation, by the way.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

